Building Community Through Local Journalism

Our funders

Donors and members subscribe to Cityside’s belief that promoting greater civic engagement and informed discourse is a direct route to better, more inclusive and healthier communities. They play no role in guiding the journalism produced by Cityside.

We encourage our readers to become a donor.

When it comes to our donors and corporate sponsors, Cityside is committed to full transparency.

As a news nonprofit, we avoid accepting charitable donations from anonymous sources in excess of $5,000, government entities, political parties, elected officials or candidates seeking public office. We will not accept donations from sources who, as deemed by our board of directors, present a conflict of interest with our work or compromise our independence.

Prior to the formation of Cityside as a nonprofit, Berkeleyside Inc raised more than $1 million in 2016-18 from its readers in an innovative direct public offering. Funders listed here have donated to Cityside.

More than $1 million

American Journalism Project

Google News Initiative


Bass Austern Family Fund

Facebook Journalism Project

Mark and Susan Stutzman


An Anonymous Donor at The San Francisco Foundation

Chavez Family Foundation

Barb and Andy Fremder

Hellman Foundation Fund

Evelyn Nussenbaum and Fred Vogelstein

Mike and Teresa Olson

San Francisco Foundation

Stephen and Cindy Snow

Taube Philanthropies

Walnut Fund


Akonadi Foundation

Mary and Stan Friedman

Erica Grubb

Herrick and Elaine Jackson

Stephen M. Silberstein Foundation


Jeanne Dinkelspiel

Deborah Farb and Eric Sippel

David Margulius

Renaissance Journalism

The Women’s Foundation California

The Yellow Chair Foundation


James Canty 

Fleishhacker Foundation

Paula Hughmanick and Steve Berger

Michael Lewis and Tabitha Soren

Stephanie McKown and John Brennan

Alan and Nancy Saldich

Alan and Ruth Tobey

Vita Wells


Denny Abrams

Gertrude Allen

Joaquin Alvarado

Anonymous (In memory of Robert Mersfelder)

Terry and Barbara Atlas

Mike and Linda Baker

Penny Barron

Karen Coyle 

Tracy Craig

Jeff Day

Steven Dinkelspiel

William H. Donner Foundation

Andrea Dooley

John Ehrlich

Jacob and Louise Epstein

The Gibbs Family Charitable Fund

Chuck Fanning and Melinda Haag

Colleen Fong

Graham Gardner

Margo Hackett and Robert Yagura

Sheila and Ted Himmel

Adam Hochschild

John and Barbara Holzrichter

Ann Jensen

Emilie Keas

Ruth Krishnan

Kyle Lamson

Laura Leaverton

Eleanore Lee

Ryan Lester

Deborah Lewis

McGuinn Family Fund

Jack and Barbara McPhail

James Morgan

Nicole Nguyen

Doug Ng and Theo Posselt

Anne Pardee

Peleh Fund

Sarah and Mike Ranney

George Rehm

Steve Sachs and Michelle Lynn-Sachs

Elizabeth Sawi

Alison Teeman and Michael Yovino-Young

The One Four Five Fund

Erin and John Thornton

Sarah Van Roo

Dorothy Walker

Dan White